QUEST FOR A HEALTHIER LIFE

Happy Monday!

Lately I have been doing a lot of research into food, especially herbs, vegetables, and organic food.  I had somewhat of a rude awakening, as I found out how unhealthy my diet has been.  A typical American, I was raised a carnivore.  I didn’t consider a salad to be a full meal, even if it had chicken or bacon on it, and salad was what food ate to become food.  But I also ate a heavy portion of starches; pasta, potatoes, bread, more pasta.  And of course candy and junk food on occasion.  That type of diet seemed pretty common, and so I thought it was fairly healthy.  I certainly know people whose diets are much more unhealthy, like eating frozen microwave meals everyday, or pizza for dinner every night.  I felt pretty good about my eating habits, until recently.

Now I am finding that all that meat and starch, though filling, wasn’t doing much for me health-wise.  It might be that meat is just bad, period; or maybe it’s bad because of all the genetic modification and growth hormones.  But even those who do not support vegetarianism have to admit, vegetarians are much less likely to get any kind of cancer, particularly colon and kidney cancer.  They also have a lower incidence of kidney stones, live longer, and have more energy.  No one can say for sure what causes it; vegetarians are often more health-conscious and are more likely to have healthier habits in general, i.e. working out regularly.  So it is difficult to say what the best, most effective method is: vegetarianism, veganism, an alkaline diet, low fat or low calorie diet, regular exercise…  The simple answer is, there is no simple answer.  Our bodies are more complex than that.  It isn’t just one or two things, it involves your intire lifestyle.

And so begins my quest for a healthier lifestyle.  In my research I have found a plethora of information about being healthier, and have talked about it and shared it with others encouraging them to make healthy lifestyle changes.  Now it’s time to walk the walk.  Time to take my own advice and eat less meat and more veggies, avoid GMO’s, rely less on modern medicine, and try to lead a more simple, natural life.

dont-have-a-cow

As today is Monday, it seems appropriate to mention a phenomenon I recently discovered called Meatless Monday.  All that good stuff

I mentioned about being vegetarian?  According to MeatlessMonday.com, you can reap some of those health benefits, reducing your risk of cancer, cardiovascular disease, diabetes, and obesity, by just cutting out meat one day a week!  I would like to eventually stop eating meat completely, but at least one day a week seems like a reasonable place to start.

For an easy, meatless dinner, try this spinach salad recipe from RealSimple.com:

Ingredients

Directions

  1. Toss apples with 2 tablespoons of the lemon juice. Place spinach in a large bowl; remove long stems and bruised leaves. Whisk together remaining juice, olive oil, vinegar, honey, salt, and ground pepper to taste. Toss spinach with apples and dressing. Divide between four bowls. Top with cheese and walnuts.

UPDATE: ^^^This salad was fantastic! Seems silly to have a recipe for something so simple, I didn’t follow it very closely. I didn’t have apples, apple cider vinegar, walnuts, or goat cheese, I just used what I had already – a banana and some granola. I usually avoid salad dressing, because I never know what’s in it. So I love that this comes with a healthy dressing recipe! Anyone else try it?

Resources:

3 responses to “QUEST FOR A HEALTHIER LIFE

  1. The new Zune browser is surprisingly good, but not as good as the iPod’s. It works well, but isn’t as fast as Safari, and has a clunkier interface. If you occasionally plan on using the web browser that’s not an issue, but if you’re planning to browse the web alot from your PMP then the iPod’s larger screen and better browser may be important.

  2. Pingback: A good reason for meatless monday | Holistic me·

  3. Thanks for finally talking about >QUEST FOR
    A HEALTHIER LIFE | Ultimate Fulfillment <Liked it!

Comments are closed.